Fun planning, dank milestones. KAubersnek style.

So, the results from yesterday.

You will be pleased to know the solution works! I have yet to do extensive/thorough testing, although I am doing on-the-fly debugging in the meantime until I achieve this first operational milestone. And that is what I want to talk about. Milestones.

I do love my planning, and I have thought out a fair bit about what I want the program to be once it is done. So far, I have a well-defined operational milestone that I am dubbing “Full Operational Capability” (very professional sounding). This milestone is reached once the core functionality of the browser is complete. That means no advanced developer tools are being added at this stage, nor will the styling be finalised. Basically, the following criteria must be met:

  • Basic web functionality
    • Direct navigation
    • Past and forward history traversing
    • Native search query forwarding
  • Basic user settings
    • Home page setting
    • Search engine setting
    • Basic UI layout settings (hiding the bookmark bar, etc.)
  • Basic bookmarking system
    • Tab-based bookmark-managing functionality
    • UI bookmark bar
  • Basic ‘luxuries’ (you could consider these non-essentials)
    • Custom source code view
    • Custom context menu for default right-clicking within the GeckoWebBrowser
    • Custom download management capabilities
    • InPrivate browser

This milestone determines how far the project will go. If I am unable to create a usable web browser by not meeting this criterion, I will either cancel the project or postpone it until a time I have learnt what I need to know to complete this. Remember, I am always learning.

However, if this milestone is reached, I will then begin work on the next two milestones:

  1. Developer Tools Completion
    • This stage involves implementing some of the advanced developer features that the project is designed to accommodate. This includes the addition of a non-WYSIWYG webpage editor with helpful options designed to speed up the development of HTML and CSS code without the clutterful and fun-sapping ways of WYSIWYG designers such as Adobe Dreamweaver. This functionality is currently being explored in a project called “KAubershark”, which I am not prepared to reveal yet (it is still very rough and early)
  2. UI Design Unification
    • This stage involves finalising the overall design of all aspects of the software. This includes making the design unique and unified across all forms, dialogs and controls. After this is done, the project will be complete.

I have not gone into too much detail for these milestones in case of further refinements to the ideas. What I gave you is a basic brief of what the work entails, but I do have other ideas that I am still playing around in my head with. Work on ‘KAubershark’ is currently on hold until the first milestone is complete. It originally started as a standalone idea as a non-WYSIWYG development suite, and what code I have done for it is currently in a separate solution. That work is mostly rough and is for the purpose of exploring the plausibility of the idea, since it will naturally be a huge task and I want to make sure it is worth the effort. The final way I am going to implement KAubershark is not finalised either. My two options are to integrate the work into KAubersnek’s solution, or keep it as a separate standalone software and add a bridge for the two applications to access each other.

So that is it for this post! I hope you appreciate the insight, and please watch this space!

Leave a Reply

