Why “Mobile-First” website development is actually a good thing

Upon examining my last three websites project, I have noticed a trend in the way I develop websites.

I usually design my websites desktop first/mobile later. Which has been fine until now since these offline projects were just code practice for me, and they were database-style websites that would be ill-suited for mobiles. But now, as I prepare to launch two websites that will be on the internet for the public’s viewing, I am starting to see why the “mobile-first” philosophy is actually a good one, and why modern developers should consider adhering to it.

In the last of the three older projects (which was about Aircraft Carriers), I did start redesigning the website to be content-efficient on mobile displays using CSS media queries, but the transition was troubled. I found my myself ‘hacking’ things to make things appear correctly, rewriting entire CSS stylesheets, and adding DIV containers to manipulate groups of elements better.  On my first new websites, I have opted to start transitioning to a mobile-first development scheme (I’ll explain more about why I finally decided to adopt this approach below).

Things have worked out far better this time around. Probably the best thing about this is that the transition from mobile to desktop is an expansion, whereas the transition to desktop to mobile is a contraction. Making an element contract from an already well-calculated specification can be problematic, hence some cases of rewriting the entire CSS so that everything acts uniformly. Manipulating elements designed to be small into larger elements from my experience is far easier.

The new websites look far better than all my previous efforts. But the change was incremental. The first new website, a Star Trek fan site, was only designed at the beginning with mobile devices in mind. There is a high degree of code commonality with my aircraft carrier website, except for the way I handle content efficiency. You might notice from the screenshots of my website there are these red tile objects. These are what display hyperlinks and other data that require morphing when viewed on smaller screens. Using media queries; their width, height, padding, font-size (in em instead of pixels) and optional images’ size are modified. The rest of the website’s content, such as headings and paragraphs, only have their font-size modified. The header’s size stays the same, although the standard menu gets switched into a mobile “hamburger” menu. The website is designed to be displayed in three fixed size brackets; desktop (> 1024px), tablet (< 1024px && > 768px) and mobile (< 768px). This website is due for launch before the years’ end. I will likely make a future post explaining this project.

 

(Please note that for the mobile website, a viewport meta tag is present to ensure that a phone’s web browser displays correctly and eliminates the view of that large blue margins. That screenshot is from a desktop browser.)

My second website is eventually going to serve as my personal portfolio showcase. That was written from the ground up to be a mobile size. The default CSS code is for mobile styling, and then media queries modify it to desktop styling when needed. There are also three size brackets, however the during the mobile bracket, the wrapper that usually keeps the elements in the center of the screen is not fixed and the elements can scale to fit from 768px to 480px (before, the mobile bracket offered a fixed wrapper size of 512px). The tile styling system I used previously is currently omitted from the design as I am working on a better way of flexible size data representation. The design is still being built, so no screenshots yet.

So, why this change all of a sudden? Well, the fact is that more internet users are using mobiles these days – I personally have been using my phone to browse my favourite Star Trek websites more than ever. And the fact is, you really should not give your readers a negative point about the website’s design. I have seem some reports and statements that have talked about the woes in the eyes of the consumers when they use their phone to browse a non-mobile optimised website. People are quick to form opinions based on first impressions. And if that first impression is that the website has a poorly-optimised mobile site, then it is possible that no amount of good content will remedy the situation (it is funny, yet concerning how many things you can apply that logic to as well…). But anyway, I aim to give the best impressions I can with my first proper public websites!

Leave a Reply

